Unfavoritest kids’ books

Ever read Guess How Much I Love You?

The storyline is cute…two bunnies (daddy and baby) talking about how much they love one another. “I love you to my toes”, “I love you across the river and up the lane”, etc.

The thing is, it’s a story that relies on the one-up. The baby says something, the father says something more, or bigger: “Well, I love YOU further, longer, faster…” The baby tries to respond, the father one-ups the kid. Submit, bunny!

About the third time through this book I was compelled to throw it across the room.

Chicka Chicka Boom Boom is similar. All the alphabet letters are trying to beat each other up the coconut tree. And then they all fall and bust it. In true kid fashion, they get brushed off by their uppercase parents and go for it again. “Healthy” competition at its finest.

Madeline and Fancy Nancy aren’t any better. A little girl getting waited on hand and foot, misbehaving and never being disciplined, and being raised by nuns who rush to her every cry. Or one who’s thoroughly materialistic, concerned about her appearance, and uses words too big for her peers, to make them feel like she’s beyond them? “Decorating’s SO MUCH FUN”!!!

And don’t get me started on the Taggies books. No substance, hardly readable- “Puppy. Night-night puppy.” Sure, the attention span of the average 2-year-old isn’t great, but by that age St. A was loving the classic Curious George stores, which require at least some mental processing.

*Sigh*. What’s a thoughtful mom to do?

This entry was posted in children, family and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Unfavoritest kids’ books

  1. Mary-LUE says:

    My favorite books for little ones are Sandra Boynton… The Going to Bed Book, etc.

    My least favorite books are the toy or tv tie-ins, My Little Pony readers and such. I could not stand reading them to my daughter. Blech.

    Good luck surviving until the books get more interesting!

  2. antropologa says:

    I go to the library now and get the “Easy Read” books and those are working well for us right now.

  3. faemom says:

    We have tons of Dr. Seuss, and now Evan wants to learn more about things like dinosaurs and whales, so we go to the library for nonfiction books.

    But I hate The Giving Tree. The little boy takes and takes and takes, and I remember the adult reading to me saying the tree is like the mom because the tree is always willing to give. Yeah, I don’t think there are many moms who would sacrifice ourselves for our children’s financial futures.

  4. badmommymoments says:

    Just stay clear of Berenstain Bears…we wound up with one about bullies. And in the end the bears got into a fight and the bear who fought with Sister Bear went to professional counseling. Try explaining a therapist to a three year old…

  5. erin says:

    i’m not a mom, but i was a kid. i remember loving berenstain bears, an american tale, and goat goes to school (or something like that), among others. i think the biggest thing to me was being able to relate to the kids in the stories. i was sister bear, i was fievel, and i was the goat!

    i understand the cautiousness involved in picking stories for your kids to read over and over again, storing them into the subconscious, etc. i actually think books did help me to form my sense of right and wrong and gave me heroes to look up to, but most of those came later, when i was picking out most of my own reading material.

    considering that, the link between interesting stories that my mom could read to me and interesting stories that i could read to myself turned out to be an un-interesting story that i could read to myself. my first grade teacher loaned me one of those dick and jane books from the classroom, so i could read to my mom while she was cooking dinner. that book was the magic link for me, and i’ve been picking out my own heroes ever since.

    bless you, mommies!

  6. My least favorites–anything by Dr. Seuss. I hated the books as a kid–bad pictures, too much repetition, and thin plots. As an adult, listening to a child read the whole book to me is painful (but at least they are reading). I agree about “The Giving Tree”–very one-sided. Usually, I really like Mo Willems books but “Edwina the Dinosaur who didn’t know she was extinct” was just weird.

Leave a Reply

