Baaad mommy (part 2)

Reading pregnancy literature while pregnant is hazardous to one’s state of “OHM”. Sounds counter-productive, I know, but I have found myself ignoring, more and more, the tedious, nit-picky pregnancy advice that moms are inundated with as they gestate, mostly from well-intentioned magazines, newsletters, and TV shows. I know, I know- baaad mommy! I am so the slacker mom. Sue me and whap me upside the head. So I came up with a random list of the things I…just…can’t…seem to care about so much. Maybe it’s the second pregnancy slackage. Am I a terrible person, doomed to have a baby with seven toes and a tail? You decide.

1. Caffeine. The day I don’t drink a cup of java in the morning is the day that I cease to breathe. You can pry my Starbucks out of my cold, dead fingers…no matter that I’ll probably be dealing with Super-ADHD-kid in a couple of years. coffeecoffeecoffeecoffeeyum

2. Kegels. I mean really. I do them every now and then, but my pelvic floor is disturbingly lazy. By the time I do five or six, my lower half is roaring in dull protest. Then I forget that I was doing them in the first place, so I move on. Yawn. Don’t…seem….to…care….

3. Prenatal vitamins. One place I read said to “take them religiously”. My midwife insists that even Flintstones chewables are somehow going to make the difference between trollbaby and gorgeous latin offspring. I’m lucky if I get them down 3 days a week.

4. “Childbirth refresher class”. Reading this in one of my recent pregnancy magazines made me laugh. My forgetfulmommybrain isn’t SO far advanced that I can’t seem to remember the last birth. Mind-knumbing, agonizing pain for 30 hours tends to leave a mark on the memory….and on the pelvic floor, apparently.

5. “Babymoons”. Apparently this is the new indispensable thing for birth. In a perfect world, where I have Angelina Jolie’s abs and R has Brad Pitt’s money, we would go to Chateau Elan for their babymoon package (which start, in case you’re curious, around $1500 for four days) and try and forget that we’re not going to sleep for the next 6 months. I’m not sure if rose petal baths and seaweed wraps would help, so we’re “babymooning” in Hilton Head for a few days over Spring Break. Would we survive without it? Undeniably.

So as I navigate these last two months of gestation, skillfully floating about with whale-like grace, I choose to be selectively deaf regarding certain stress-inducing minutiae which fail to contribue to my sense of “ohm”. Will I be shortly welcoming a six-toed lemur sprouting green hair and a bad case of hyperactivity? Will I look back on these days of willful ignorance with stabbing shards of regret? Will I never measure up to the fabulously meticulous Hollywood mommies, who take their prenatals and do Kegels till they glow with pelvic potency? Probably not.

Pass the Flintstones.

This entry was posted in children, family, pregnancy and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

