To bris or not to bris, or, leave my twig and berries on, please

I thought I would mention the climactic conclusion of my circumcision debate. After much hem-ing and haw-ing about what to do, a day before I was induced, R and I decided to leave our baby alone. In short, we chose not to circumcize.

I have to say, I expected more resistance than we actually met. After hearing from so many people who were fired up about the choice, I thought I was taking a major political stance by not cutting. I expected to have to argue down batallions of nurses extolling the virtues and laying on the guilt trips. Nothing quite so dramatic occurred, much to my chagrin.

I was asked no less than 7 times throughout my hospital stay if we wanted to circumcise, beginning with the admittance desk (??) and ending with a huge male orderly in fuschia scrubs who cheerfully assured us, “that’s fine! Just wanted to check!”. As if it was a spa treatment I was turning down. In those first crazy hours I had enough trouble learning how to get meconium off a new and highly unfamiliar set of genitalia. I can’t imagine having to do diaper changes that involved an open wound.

The New One was born with a gorgeous set of manparts-to-be, and I have to say that every time I change a diaper I breathe a silent “thank you” to God for such a highly-contested (but perfectly formed) little appendage.

This entry was posted in children, faith, family, pregnancy and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to To bris or not to bris, or, leave my twig and berries on, please

  1. Carrie says:

    Congratulations! Ummmm. . is that the appropriate thing to say? We didn’t cut our son either and I really can’t wrap my brain around the idea of intentionally cutting off a piece of my child’s skin. We didn’t meet much resistance at the hospital, except for one lone nurse who thought we were loons. I’m always glad to read about another uncut little boy because that’s just another step to making it normal and less likely our son will deal with peer problems when he is older.

  2. antropologa says:

    If you do move out of the country, where circumcision is now the minority anyway, no one will ever blink an eye.

  3. evenshine says:

    Thanks, Carrie and Antropologa. I agree that the levels of normalcy will do a great deal for the cause of the un-circ. The more parents who make an informed decision- even if it’s to go ahead and circ- the better, in my book. Too much of healthcare is unconscious…I look forward to the day that changes!

  4. Pingback: Neighborhood Watch « Evenshine’s Weblog

  5. All three of my boys were left intact. My dad was an OB, and when I asked him about it with my first son, he said, “Can you stand to watch while they do it? If not, don’t have it done.” I thought that was pretty good advice. I know plenty of people still do it, some for religious reasons, and I think that is fine. I think it is the people who just go ahead without thinking about it that need to consider what they are doing. If they can watch a circ being done to their son, then fine. If not, maybe they shouldn’t do it.

Leave a Reply

