I to the U to the C

Yeah, huzzah for reproduction, but I am done for the time being…so since my gorgeous, passionate husband and I can’t seem to keep our hands off each other, I am going to my Ob/Gyn today for a Mirena IUC. And can I say, I hate this whole contraception thing? I haven’t ever been on birth control (just lucky- or cloistered, as the case may be), but I have heard too many horror stories about the Pill and its effects to be excited about it. Hormones are SO not my friends. And I suck at taking pills anyway, so it’s just not the best option for us.

So I brought up the idea of vasectomy to my GPH (gorgeous passionate husband) and his take was: “If you get the tubal ligation, I’ll get a vasectomy”. HUH? Male logic for ya. How is that advantageous, besides the effect of making doubly sure we never get pregnant again? Two surgeries to recover from instead of one? Two doctors visits, two copays and two possible out-of-pocket expenses? Besides the fact that a tubal is more invasive, has a higher risk of infection, and is absolutely non-reversible?? I fail to understand his logic on this one, but his sense of self-preservation might be to blame. I think he may imagine that a vasectomy means something akin to “cutting off his pee-pee”.

So, how about the “traditional barrier methods”? Other than the fact that they’re less accurate, there’s the fact that I hate them. Even with an ultra-thin, it just feels unnatural and plastic to me. And they rip. And fall off. And decrease the romanticism of the whole thing by leaps and bounds. Since we’re monogamous, and healthy, condoms have fewer pros than cons.

Other options? The implants beneath the skin are a little too “mark of the beast” for me- talk about unnatural, seeing and feeling my contraception beneath my skin is creepy. Maybe it wouldn’t be, and it’s just my imagination, but I don’t want to go through the procedure and have my fears confirmed. My sister mentioned the NuvaRing to me, but inserting things in my va-jay-jay has never been my forte.

This is all complicated by the fact that R’s church is oh? ever so SlIGHTLY against any kind of manmade contraception. I understand it from a theoretical point of view, and feel that sex is one of those things that should be thoughtful, not (always) simply passion. But as I have an irregular cycle and have had complications with my whole reproductive system, the church’s methods would be difficult and, if ineffective, disastrous. R himself feels that they’re unrealistic and behind the times, so while there is some residual reticence on his part to do something like a vasectomy or ligation, he’s ok with other methods of BC.

So? Mirena. I know it’s not 100% failsafe, but it’s one of the highest. And the possible complications are minor- bleeding, etc. And it lasts 5 years…so by then I will have forgotten my hyperemesis and the first month postpartum enough to want another child, at which time the IUC can be removed.  I would love to have at least one more baby, maybe a girl with R’s soulful eyes.

We’ll see how it goes…I’ll blog this week about the actual procedure, for those of you considering it. Meanwhile, any thoughts on BC- what works for you, what doesn’t, your experiences?

This entry was posted in children, faith, family, pregnancy and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to I to the U to the C

  1. antropologa says:

    I’ve been on the pill (for years until it raised my blood pressure) and then I’ve used infertility as a highly effective form of contraception, and then a diaphragm. The diaphragm is working so far, and had better keep working for a very long time. I use extra spermicide in it when I’m near ovulation though that makes me itchy. Looking forward to more info on the IUD! It’s quite popular in Europe and you know how into European things I am.

  2. Nerd says:

    Just a heads up – the Mirena has hormones in it so if you’re looking for a hormone free BCM this is not it. I’m not going to regale you with my horror story – it’s on my blog if you’re interested (www.nerdnuggets.com). I wish you and your GPH heaps of happiness and lots of love.
    cheers,
    Nerd.

  3. evenshine says:

    Thanks, Nerd. I was sorry to read about your horror story with Mirena…see my next post to hear about my experience.
    I did, in fact, know about the hormones, though I was counseled by my midwife that Mirena was a good choice because of its lack of effect on breastmilk. Since I am breastfeeding it seemed like a good option, but the info from your site and others suggests differently. As I didn’t choose Mirena for the effects on my period, I am re-evaluating my options…thanks for the heads-up!

  4. Tiffanie says:

    I have had my mirena for two years and love the freedom and lack of periods. It really is a big decision however and the hormones, no matter how localized or low dosage they are, can react differently in each person. Good luck to you.

  5. evenshine says:

    Thanks for commenting, Tiffanie! I am glad to hear that you’ve had a good experience. Cheers.

Leave a Reply

