Random mommy thoughts

The girl who lives across the hall from us is a surrogate. Like, it’s her job to host other peoples’ zygotes in her uterus to a felicitous conclusion.  She has done this several times, and this time with twins. She also manages to do so without nausea or exhaustion, looking chic in fitted maternity capris and embroidered caftans. My reaction: you rock! The world must be peopled!

She mentioned to me yesterday that she is pumping for the twins, and she and her- um, employer? make “milk runs” from the employer’s house about an hour away. Daily. My reaction: wow. That’s a lot of work for antibodies, but it’s lovely to go out of your way for someone else. (Brain: was that part of the “contract”?) 

Then she mentions that she is going to work for this same…employer as “mommy’s helper”. The employer is apparently mid-40s and “likes being a mom, but…” (shrugging).

Huh?

Looks like a recipe for disaster. I was already surprised that my neighbor had contact with the mother and babies, then even more so upon finding out that they have their milk runs. But mommy’s helper? So the twins will be, in part, raised by the surrogate? Obviously I don’t know the whole situation, but it seems like a bit much to have the surrogate involved to such a degree. Thoughts?

___

Breastfeeding. In church. A blogging friend recently wrote an article about nursing in Mass. If you scroll down to the comments you’ll see the great division on opinions on the subject. Thus I was a little nervous to try it in our new parish church. I shouldn’t have been, probably, but I ended up leaving Mass and asking an usher if there was a place I could nurse. Expecting him to direct me to the bathroom, I was pleasantly surprised when he led me to a room off the sanctuary where the priest and acolytes get dressed. He mentioned that the chairs were more comfortable there than one of the sunday school rooms. He even asked me if I needed anything! I was happy, used my lovely nursing cover, and returned to mass just as the final chorus was sung. Next mission: nurse in Mass! Wish me luck.

This entry was posted in Catholic, children, christianity, faith, family and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Random mommy thoughts

  1. antropologa says:

    That surrogacy situation does seem a bit…overdone. My familiarity with surrogacy is that the relationship begins and ends with the pregnancy.

    As for nursing in church, I can’t imagine why anyone would find that problematic. What, they prefer crying, hungry children?

  2. evenshine says:

    A- if you follow the link and skip to the comments, you’ll see what I’m talking about. Opinions seem to be divided between “no breasts in church” and “it’s totally natural and should be done, albeit with discretion”. Surprising, given that Catholicism is usually fairly family friendly. I think it just highlights the general American paranoia with breasts.

  3. wow.. you would think church would be the one place nursing as god intended would be a beautiful thing???

Leave a Reply

