There are no squash in Colombia

And you know how I feel about squash.

Living in Spain as a child, the native American squashes were hard to find. I remember pumpkins, but I am almost certain that they came from the American Air Force Base near the city. Had to keep up those crazy American customs.

In my twitterpated mind, Fall is the time for squash. Halve a large acorn squash and bake it with butter and brown sugar. Slice large chunks of pumpkin and salt them down, then bake. Pumpkin bread, zucchini, even spaghetti squash can be used in interesting ways.

So imagine my dismay when my lovely Colombian husband turns his nose up to squash! It began innocently enough- no sweet potato drenched with butter and cinnamon sugar at a dinner with my parents. But it progressed to outright disdain when confronted with our Halloween pumpkins from  last year, after the festivities were over, that I proposed we slice and boil for pumpkin puree. The fact that he nearly chopped his finger off while slicing pumpkin rind could perhaps have contributed. Some.

When I lived in Peru, various squashes found their way into my cuisine. Zapallo was the common name for any of them, and was usually served as a pureed soup, deliciously warm and filling for the Andean temperatures. I am even assured by Wiki that there is some use of squash in Colombia, but it’s vague, and certainly not prepared like its North American counterpart.

What’s your take on squash? Are there cultural foods you have trouble integrating into your family’s cuisine?

This entry was posted in children, family and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to There are no squash in Colombia

  1. antropologa says:

    My husband isn’t too into squash, but I think it’s all the butter/sugar he objects to. But you can make it without! We do eat lots of sweet potato. Obviously I like squash.

  2. xieta says:

    I’m from Spain and have eaten squash my whole life! (If this is what you call sqhash: http://www.dkimages.com/discover/DKIMAGES/Discover/previews/805/20257309.JPG)
    My gandfather always grew some, besides regular pumpkins.

  3. evenshine says:

    Xieta- that’s one type of squash, yes. I was referring mostly to the American varieties. Calabaza was the word we used for most of that kind, what I would refer to as the Halloween squash. Thanks for commenting!

Leave a Reply

