Interludes

(Background: Our church has recently moved from its own building and is meeting in the Hilton temporarily.)

Husband: Ok, tell me another word in Spanish.

4-year-old: Hotel. (Pronounced o-tell)

H: Muy bien. And what does “hotel” mean?

4-year-old: Well, it’s like when you want to go to church, you go to this big building with the pool…

___

(In the car, on the way to the store for some boxes for our move)

4-year-old: Hey mom, look! I can lick my neck!

___

(Watching Isaiah the Prophet, 7 months, look at himself in the mirror)

4-year-old: Tia Erin says that Isaiah can’t recognize himself in the mirror yet.

Me: Really? I think he can. He certainly seems to.

4-year-old: Well I don’t. And anyway, Tia Erin’s smarter than you are.

___

(In the car, on the way home from preschool)

4-year-old: Addison had surgery.

Me: Wow! That must have been scary. What did she have surgery on?

4-year-old: Her father.

This entry was posted in children, family, language and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Interludes

  1. badmommymoments says:

    I, for one, CANNOT wait to hit age 4.
    <> Are we there yet?

  2. faemom says:

    That’s great! How does one like their neck?

  3. erin says:

    hilarious! the second time st. A has made me laugh today. the first was when a pic from the wedding popped up on my screensaver, her scowl at the camera was so funny and the height of defiance!

  4. antropologa says:

    Mostly the interesting stuff Nora tells me these days are the outrageous lies about not pooping, etc.

  5. Mary-LUE says:

    So funny! My friend does similar posts on a regular basis and they are hysterical.

    My daughter thought that churches were where funerals are and that blocky, warehouse type buildings was where church was.

  6. Oh my gosh, so funny!

  7. C says:

    Very cute!!

Leave a Reply

