Sari Bari

I was so excited that I had to post again…my Sari Bari baby blanket came today and it’s fabu. And I don’t use that word lightly.

Sari Bari is an organization located in Kolkata, India, that works to get women affected by the sex trade working in something outside the red light district. I found out about them through my sister, who worked in Peru for a year with their partner organization, Word Made Flesh. “Cool missionary” seems like an oxymoron, but they aren’t into proselytizing the world, just serving in the poorest areas in some of the toughest conditions imaginable.

The symbolism of the sari is potent in India, and the story about how these women remake them into blankets and bags is moving beyond words. Sari Bari provides an amazing way out of a very difficult living situation, including education, health care, and loan assistance. Not to mention that the products are  cute (and what woman can’t use another bag??). They’re still beginning, but have quite a few things available for Christmas.

Because, I mean really- how many of your purses have a story like these?

This entry was posted in ecumenism, faith, intercultural, interfaith, mission, mixed marriage, motherhood and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Sari Bari

  1. faemom says:

    That’s awesome. Thanks for spreading the word to us.

  2. Pingback: Baby Blanket

  3. KathyB! says:

    I am ordering one for my sister as soon as I finish posting! Thanks for keeping us aware! It’s nice when you can do something to make a difference as part of something you’d normally do anyway. Then you have extra money to right checks to the other good organizations 🙂 Double the good!

  4. KathyB! says:

    I meant to “write” checks. Apparently I’m already full of Christmas cheer tonight. Either that or wine!

  5. Ari says:

    Dang, your sister rocks! Ha ha 🙂

Leave a Reply

