Torn

I am, after all, amphibious, you know. Bifurcated.

At times I’m overwhelmed by the many, varied pulls on That Which Is Me. Mom, wife, sister, daughter, teacher. Comfort, companionship, obedience, leadership. Humans like to have things organized, defined, clear, not to walk in the gray. We make absolute statements to assure ourselves that we’re right. We know the answers: tolerance, diversity, unity.

It doesn’t help, I suppose, that I speak two languages daily, attend two churches, divide my attention between two kids, and teach in two universities. I’m always a stranger in someone’s strange land. Body and spirit, mind and matter.

But therein lies the difficulty.

Inclusion necessitates compromise, this balancing act of passionately believing something while passionately loving people. It’s a balance frequently misunderstood, maligned, and undervalued. Disagreement does not necessitate despising those who hold opposing views, however. Or worse, acting on them.

So in all this Obamachination, (or Obasm if you prefer that one) I have to wonder…what is inclusion going to cost us? To be more specific, how does a President who promises to be inclusive balance the other half of us who don’t hope in…some vague notion of hope? Those of us who hope in something else? Because Obamessiah will  act- even though 45% of Americans voted against him.

I want to like President McDreamy. Really I do. But how does that work exactly when I’m standing on the opposite side of the see-saw?

Built on nothing less

Built on nothing less

This entry was posted in Catholic, christianity, faith, interfaith, mixed marriage, motherhood and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Torn

  1. ck says:

    I wonder what will happen when people realize that he’s just a man.

  2. KathyB! says:

    I like to be hopeful in all aspects of my life. I’m a glass is half-full kind of person. However, the expectations bestowed upon this man (as ck so rightfully pointed out) are gonna be tough to fill. I almost feel sorry for him.

    On an unrelated and truly irrelevant topic, I’m going to have to go back and fix yesterday’s blog post. I knew you were a university prof! Your comment on my blog threw me, though. This is what I get for trying to be funny!

    I would have known with certainty, though, after your post today. You’re the only person I’ve ever known to correctly weave bifurcated into their writing. 10 points!

  3. ultraguy says:

    Quick thought… you seem to be taking the mature/ appropriate response to the different worlds you have to span by recognizing their distinctness while also connecting them in ways unique to you: unity in diversity, as one of my favorite radio preachers (Ravi Zacharias) likes to say.

    What I fear with BHO is that with that kind of rhetoric as facade, he will do the exact opposite: attempt to make soup of them — i.e., to compromise that which ought not to be compromised and average what ought not to be averaged. It is a UN mentality. It is depraved.

  4. faemom says:

    I believe our country was based on compromise. The problem I had with the last president is that he didn’t seem to listen to the other side; he just went ahead with what he felt was right. While that is a great philosophy for life, it’s not the way to govern a democracy. My hope is that Barak will surround himself with intellegent people who won’t be afraid to disagree with him. I do believe that if miracles aren’t performed in a 100 days, people will turn on Barak and not give him a chance. I hope he will do well and I want us to give him time to show us that he wasn’t trying to sell us snake-oil.

  5. Emily says:

    ck — I think even those of us who adore him realize he is just a man.

    Evenshine — it says a lot about you that you want him to succeed.

  6. Thank you. I saw your comment on another post and am always happy and grateful when I find someone else that sees the world as I do. I can’t even figure out what these other people are looking at!

  7. Evenshine says:

    Thanks, mamaneeds2rant. Welcome!

  8. I don’t think you HAVE to be hopeful about Obama or HAVE to like him. Why try?

    When Bush was elected twice (not my choice) I took comfort in thinking about two things.

    One is Julian of Norwich’s words: “All will be well, and every kind of thing will be well.” (very roughly) Maybe not today or tomorrow or perhaps in our lifetimes, but everything will be well long term.

    The other thing I remember for the shorter, earthly term is to remember that things do go in cycles. Yesterday the Republicans were in power, today the Democrats. Today the economy is a mess, but it will sort itself out eventually.

Leave a Reply

