Love Song #6

Your breath is inaudible and your eyelids twitch every few seconds. We are warm, covered, home.

I wonder what’s going on in that busy brain, now settled, relaxed. Today you saw things you had never seen. Today you did things you had never done before, throwing yourself into the moment like a performer from Cirque. Today you showed that reckless courage I have always so admired in you.

Eyelashes folded over your deep chocolate pupils, you stir and sigh.

There is nothing sweeter than your sleepy breathing.

I gaze towards the window, curtained in deep brown like your sleeping eyes. For a moment our breathing is in synch and for a fleeting instant I remember our time as one, when you moved within me, the hushed minutes we spent sharing the same blood.

I look down and you’ve awoken, staring at me, silent.

“Hey there,” I whisper.

And you blow me a kiss.

This entry was posted in children, family, intercultural, language, mixed marriage, motherhood, pregnancy and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Love Song #6

  1. faemom says:

    Amazing. Beautiful.
    I have something for you on my blog.

  2. Um, hi…you made me cry. Gorgeous!

  3. incognitomom says:

    lovely. it’s moments like that where the world is perfect.

  4. Karen says:

    You really captured the beauty of that moment. Thank you for sharing that intimacy with us all.

Leave a Reply

