At a loss for words

I don’t even know what to say about this. Having been a single mom (of ONE) I can’t even fathom the courage (or? something else?) of bringing eight babies into an already large family. Her decision not to selectively abort is absolutely commendable, but…yikes. And she’s planning on breastfeeding all of them. Not even sure how that works.

(Cue “Running on Empty”).

Thoughts?

This entry was posted in children, faith, motherhood, pregnancy and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to At a loss for words

  1. A woman in another news article I read had a priest tell her, “You know, the church frowns on science babies.” What do you think of that?!?!?! Fertility treatment and implantation is one thing I am ambiguous about. My parents were diagnosed as infertile, but opted not to do anything about it. I think that’s the decision I would make too. I mean I wouldn’t want 8 babies in my uterus at the same time and I would want breastfeeding to go well for us, so it seems to me like implantation would be out of the question for me. I don’t like judging other women’s decisions, though.

  2. faemom says:

    Evenshine and fightingwindmills, you both brought up good points. I don’t think we can judge either, but it does seem weird when you’re not married, have six kids, and live with your parents to get fertility treatment.

  3. Karen says:

    I am still not sure what i think about on this issue. But I pray that she has a lot of support and have a huge heart to love all 14 of her children. I wonder if she is “done” now.

  4. Danielle says:

    I just wanted to say “hi” and thanks for stopping by my blog and commenting! 🙂

  5. Eva says:

    That lady is a loon and her RE should have his/her license taken away. It’s not a situation that makes any kind of sense medically, ethically, socially, etc.

    You might want to read this:

    http://www.alittlepregnant.com/alittlepregnant/2009/01/oh-come-on-you-had-to-know-this-post-was-coming-eventually.html

  6. Pingback: Form over function « Evenshine’s Weblog

Leave a Reply

