AcadeMistress

(Evaluator, who stressed the necessity of using all available class time while orienting me to the program, stands and makes her way forward as class ends, the students filing out, her observation ending).

E: What time do you have?

Me: Ummm-(checking my watch)…2:50pm.

(Yes, the class is scheduled to end at 2:50pm.)

E: (Frowning) Huh.

Me: Something wrong?

E: Well, my watch must be wrong. I have that it’s only just now 2:49.

Me: Ummm…well maybe-

E: I mean, maybe you could synch your watch to the class computer or something.

Me: ….

E: Since there isn’t a clock in here.

Me: ….

E: Or maybe my watch is just wrong.

Me: Yeah. Could be.

(Have I mentioned how much I love being observed? And here I thought I wasn’t a grad student any more. But you know that last minute of class- SUPER crucial to learning outcomes. Gotta milk those teachers for all they’re worth- even when you aren’t giving them benefits).

This entry was posted in language and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to AcadeMistress

  1. KathyB! says:

    I guess next time you’re evaluated you should stand at the end of class and sing your school’s fight song (or something to that end). That way you’d be certain not to short-change the students of any valuable time (seconds)while simultaneously fostering a culture of school spirit and an enthusiasm for learning.

    How ridiculously nit-picky.

  2. antropologa says:

    What is it about our field? Some people are so weird.

  3. incognitomom says:

    You’ve gotta be kidding me? Maybe I’m glad I never finished my degree cuz if someone had done that to me during an evaluation I might have snapped and hurt them.

    Next time you should have your whole class synch their watches to the evaluator’s watch and when 2:50 rolled around you could all stand up and sing “Good night sweetheart.”

  4. evenshine says:

    Thanks, all, for your comments on the strangeness. I hoped it wasn’t just me that thought it was a little (shall we say) retentive.

    Today we’re learning “Good night sweetheart” and the fight song for the university.

    In case she’s peeking.

  5. ck says:

    Gosh, I don’t know…if I had that handful of extra seconds in a class I’d…I’d…oh, wait. They passed…

    Thank you, evaluator. I’m officially a better person for syncing up with you.

  6. faemom says:

    God, help those students for not recieving those extra seconds of learning because they are too excited about getting some fresh air.

Leave a Reply

