V-meme

In honour (a la UK) of Valentine’s Day, which I have always believed to be a holiday entirely made up by Hallmark, here’s a hubby meme. Those of you who have one (hubby, that is), are tagged, if you like. Those of you still searching, do the questions for He Who Shall Come. I took this from Mad Housewife at I am the Giraffe, but tweaked it just a little.

How long have you been together?
Almost three years.

How long did you know each other before you started dating?
About 9 months.

How old are each of you?
I’m 31, he’s a year younger.

Whose siblings do/ did you see the most?
Mine. His are in Colombia.

Do you have any children together?
St. Adelaide the Righteous and the Prophet Isaiah. No, not their real names.

What about pets?
Heck no. Though I want a Great Dane and he wants a Cairn Terrier (like Toto). Irreconcilable differences.

Which situation is the hardest on you as a couple?
Money. Hands down.

Did you go to the same school?
Unless you count the one with me as professor and him as student, no (and it wasn’t nearly as creepy as it sounds).

Are you from the same home town?
No. I was born in NY and he in Santiago de Cali, Colombia (South America, The World).

Who is the smartest?
He is.  He married me, didn’t he?  Hahahaha!  Hahahahaha! Haaaa…. yeah.

Who is the most sensitive?
Me. A look, a gesture. I’m lucky if he notices the laundry’s done.

Where do you eat out most as a couple?
We really like the Bonefish Grill for their mussels and a Colombian restaurant called La Casona.

Where is the furthest you two have traveled together as a couple?
About an hour from where we live, for our honeymoon. I know, I know. But we have small kids.

Who has the worst temper?
He shows his anger more dramatically (think telenovela). I close down and shut myself in small, enclosed spaces.

Who hogs the bed?
Me. But HE hogs the comforter.

Who is more stubborn?
Him. I am willing to sacrifice for the sake of peace.

Who is more jealous?
Me. I am jealous of the lady in the bathrobe that gives him cookies when he’s working. Don’t ask. Long story.

Who does the cooking?
Me, only because if it were up to him, we’d eat lettuce and Dorito casserole followed by toast. With no butter.

Who is more social?
He is. He’d talk to anyone, ask anyone anything, approach total strangers. Which is totally Latino. I’d rather starve, freeze, and be eaten by wild dogs.

Who is the neat Freak?
Moi (and why is “freak” capitalized??).  He only notices stink.

Who wakes up earlier?
Me. But he gets up with the kids at night, which drives me to insanity if I do. Seriously. I see things.

Where was your first date?
An Italian restaurant. Opera music and a full moon. Followed by coffee and hours of conversation.

Who has the bigger family?
Me. I am the first of four and he is the middle of three. However, if you define family like he does, then he has the larger family. Aunts, Uncles, cousins up the whazoo.

Do you get flowers often?
Never. And when I have (ummm….twice ever, not including my wedding bouquet), they still have the price tag on them. From Publix. Sigh.

How long did it take to get serious?
Define “serious.”  We met in August, started dating in March, and were married by July.

Who does the laundry?
Both of us. I had to give a tutorial, but both of us.

Who drives when you are together?
We’re fairly equal-opportunity, but I know he hates me as a passenger. I’m one of those white-knuckled ones, unfortunately.

Is your family still growing?
Not presently, but we’re both set on adopting, probably a sibling group, probably from Africa. Pregnancy is difficult for me (like hospital difficult), but if I could stay home full time, (hello economy) then I’d probably chance a biological child. Or eight.

Just kidding.

This entry was posted in children, Colombia, faith, family, mixed marriage, motherhood, pregnancy and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to V-meme

  1. antropologa says:

    That was really interesting!

  2. KathyB! says:

    That was fun! I enjoy getting the inside scoop on my favorite bloggers. And I HAVE to comment on this post, because that V post made my eyes cross. There were either too many v-words in there or that glass of wine is starting to mess with me 😉

Leave a Reply

