Thankful

Today it’s 80 degrees and sunny, and my brain is high like I’m on prescription drugs.

On my way to a job I love, doing what I do best, teaching language to give a voice to those who don’t have one.

My kids are healthy and happy.

My son says Mama, and is taking multiple steps on his own.

My daughter read 24 books last week for Dr. Seuss’ birthday celebration.

We’ve been attending a bilingual, multicultural, multiethnic church that we are quite enamored of. More on this in a later post.

We’ve paid our bills (this month!) and have money left to eat.

The daffodils are blooming in crevices around our neighborhood.

And I breathe and watch and am thankful.

This entry was posted in children, faith, family, intercultural, language, mixed marriage, motherhood and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Thankful

  1. ultraguy says:

    Today it’s in the 20’s, snowy and icy and I’m hopeful.

    I’m haven’t budged from my desk since getting up (I work at home) and I’m thankful just to have some (work, that is — and a home).

    My kids are healthy and happy. They’re saying things like “what courses should I take next semester?” and “what should I major in?” and taking overseas flights on their own.

    I’ve been attending a new church that God led me to and I cannot thank Him enough for the people there.

    I too am thankful for food on the table (and for running water and electricity and heat!), aware that all are gifts and may not be there in a few years if the storm that is brewing continues.

    The snow-drops and crocuses on my neighbors lawns were peeking out… before the snow came.

    What a beautiful little post. Thanks for sharing! God bless.

  2. ck says:

    Awesome.

    (That’s just how I feel too.)

  3. myra36 says:

    how inspirational! thank you.

  4. faemom says:

    Great post! Have a great day!

  5. bethyoung says:

    hey, who are you by the way? You comment on my page and I’ve never known who you were or how you came to my page???? 🙂

  6. D says:

    Nice. It sounds like things are pretty great in your world. I feel very similar. Except the 80 degree part. It might have reached 35 today.

    http://www.12pair.com

  7. Gibby says:

    This is awesome. Thanks for getting my own thinking back on track.

  8. Excellent!! Made me stop and think about what I’m thankful for.

  9. evenshine says:

    Thanks, all! I need the reminder to be grateful all the time.

  10. Thanks for reminding me to practice gratitude! Do you teach ESL, by the way? I have my Master’s degree in Intercultural Studies/TESOL, and hopefully one day I will be able to get back in the classroom. I love teaching English!

    Also, I think I am taking one of your suggestions for the name…Pascal is definitely at the top of the list. Thanks!

  11. evenshine says:

    2 square- yes, I have my MA in Applied Linguistics, so anything with languages, culture, and teaching is my thing. Hope you get back in the classroom soon! Maybe we’ll both be teaching at the same place! Cheers.

Leave a Reply

