I’ve been…

…enjoying the spring rain. We’ve had tons of it here, though we’re still not back up to non-drought stage.

…trying to help a dear friend who doesn’t want my help. I think the hardest part of friendship is realizing that you’re much more invested than the other person is. Nothing like a few “let me call you”s and “we’ll see”s to make you feel needed.

…doing my taxes. (Done! Come ooooon, return!)

…nursing my son through the delightful world of  molars.

…grading piles of papers (Hey, Ink!) and trying not to look at all the ones that have yet to be done.

…laughing at Obama. (Come on, it’s me…)

…seriously considering giving up blogging. I find I’m more focused on my kids, husband, and work when I’m not brewing up a new blog post. Some recent acquisitions of lovely cloth-bound journals have been calling me to step away from the computer. And then churn some butter and salt down some venison.

…enjoying our bilingual church. Young and old, rich and poor, monolingual and poly, this place is what I visualize when I think “community”. And the tamales are great!

…attempting to explain to my 4-year-old what bunnies and eggs have to do with Jesus rising from the dead. (“Ohhh….now I get it, Mommy, the bunnies all came out of the tomb when the stone rolled back. And we have eggs ’cause bunnies lay eggs! Right? Right??”)

…wishing a 30-something mom can get away with rain boots and not look like I’m trying too hard.

No, not me

This entry was posted in children, faith, family, intercultural, mixed marriage, motherhood and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to I’ve been…

  1. ck says:

    I might have to borrow your daughter’s Jesus + Bunnies + Eggs = Easter explanation. That’s better than anything I’ve come up with.

  2. faemom says:

    Wow. You’ve been dealing with a lot. Please don’t give up blogging; let the feeling pass.

    Ladies, let the Catholic explain the bunnies and the eggs as we were the ones to steal them from the pagans. The eggs represent the tomb with the chicks hatching out like Jesus rising from the dead. The bunny is a bit confusing because at first they thought rabbits laid eggs because they had so many little rabbits at a time. Instead the Catholics insisted they were like the lamb, innocents that were sacrificed. Make sense?

  3. Ink says:

    I love this post! And the pic. And the fact that you finished grading (but of course immediately have more, sigh). You can write in your cloth-bound journals, tooo, but staaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaay blogging, please! We heart you, Evenshine!

  4. Adriana says:

    Faemom, I must admit as a Catholic no one ever told me that story……it makes sense that we stole it from the pagans (or repackaged it) but it still does not make sense. However I very much enjoyed it when I was a kid.

    And Ditto what Ink says!!!!

Leave a Reply

