Beacuse you are One

…today I will sing you birthday songs in every language I know.

I will kiss you more often, though even now you hardly hold still for it.

I will not fret about the freezy-pop juice on your shirt, or the dirt between your teeth.

I will come running immediately instead of in “just a sec”.

Because you are One, I will let you sit in the bath as long as you like, even after your toes have turned pruney.

I will let you finish the whole bowl of grapes, though I know I will see them all  too soon in your diaper.

I will dance to more songs with you in my arms, cause I know you love it.

I will be a better mom, a better wife and daughter, and a better Me.

‘Cause you’re One.

dscn0950dscn0952

dscn0951

This entry was posted in children, family, motherhood and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Beacuse you are One

  1. Ink says:

    Very sweet. Happy Birthday to One!

  2. Que dulzura!!! Happy Birthday to your little one and time moves much too fast…. enjoy!

  3. faemom says:

    Happy Birthday! He’s super cute!

  4. insider53 says:

    Okay I tried something and it did not work. That is suppose to be a picture of a birthday cake with candles. nevermind

  5. Aww. What a cutie!

  6. KathyB! says:

    Happy Birthday!!

    I have found that the time just keeps roaring by at an ever increasing speed, and that in spite of my best efforts I look back and see missed opportunities.

    Try to cut the just a sec’s off at the knees 🙂 I’m still working on that myself, but it’s always worth it when I choose wisely.

  7. She is just delicious! Love the peek-a-boo she’s doing there. Happy Birthday!

  8. tlc says:

    Aww, Happy Birthday to your little one!!!

    I love this post. My little guy will celebrate his first birthday in 2 months, and I know I’ll be “a better me” on that day too, for him. But I’m not prepared to think about him turning one just yet… I just got home from the hospital, didn’t I?

  9. incognitomom says:

    Happy Belated Birthday One!

    How cute are those pictures!

    {I will come running immediately instead of in “just a sec”.} I do this too. I can’t tell you how many times I have felt bad about the number of times I’ve told my son “just a sec”, “in a minute”, or “later”.

  10. Gibby says:

    So sweet. I get so emotional on my kids’ birthdays. Good God, I am turning into my mother.

Leave a Reply

