Bringin’ home the bacon

So, have you caught the swine flu mania yet?

I arrived at St. A’s preschool yesterday to a sea of tots diligently beginning the day by scrubbing in.

Egypt has doomed its eco-friendly porcines to an untimely slaughter, and they’re using thermal imaging to detect the slightest hint of fever (watch out, you over-50 ladies!) in airports worldwide. Mass gatherings are being discouraged.

So much for freedom of assembly.

It’s the end of the world as we know it! The sky is falling! Cue the Paul Revere music!

Seriously. If you’re of the opinion that the world will end at some point, usually heralded by apocalyptic events like fire and floods, aren’t we kind of…in it? (Quick leafing in progress to Revelation…)

War? Check.

Disease? Check.

Natural disasters? Check.

Attractive world leader removing freedoms at an alarming rate? Check.

Here’s the thing. I suspect that if we were to really take to heart and mind so many cataclysmic events at a time, we’d break down completely. Human beings cannot bear too much reality, as Oscar Wilde once said. And so, in the end (if we’re there), my hope is built on nothing less than something beyond me, beyond this world and it’s present small trials. In the end it rests not on my shoulders, but on His. And there’s something wholly, completely, and eternally grounding in that.

Off to wash my hands and avoid close spaces…

Fear thou not; for I am with thee: be not dismayed; for I am thy God: I will strengthen thee; yea, I will help thee; yea, I will uphold thee with the right hand of my righteousness. -Isaiah 41:10

This entry was posted in children, faith, family, mission, politics and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Bringin’ home the bacon

  1. Like the check list – you got it!

    We’re hand washing (first school to close in nashville this week) and I’m just trying to not watch the news. Oscar was right – the reality is overwhelming.

  2. Ink says:

    Have been completely worried so yes, I would say the mania is creeping in. Of course, all four of us go to different schools, so that one guy’s idea of staying 6 feet away from other people? Not possible…

  3. KathyB! says:

    I’m clinging to the fact that there were no confirmed cases in our state — as I sit typing with a cough and a low grade fever… and wondering if my claim to fame is to be the first NC resident to get swine flu…

    I’m mostly kidding.

  4. insider53 says:

    Had the swine flu in the 70’s, it is no picnic. Don’t us menopausal ladies have enough to deal with. Now we have to worry about being arrested in airports because of a hot flash.

  5. antropologa says:

    Husband’s trip abroad was postponed due to swine flu, so I love the swine flu!

  6. incognitomom says:

    I’m worried but haven’t become obsessed with worry yet. We do lots of hand washing in this house and I think I’ll be throwing a bottle of hand sanitizer in my purse just to be safe.

    As for the coming apocalypse, it’s crossed my mind before the swine flu hit but like you said if I spent everyday worrying my head off about that I would go even crazier than I already am. Besides what will be; will be. It’s in the hands of a far greater power than me.

  7. faemom says:

    I don’t understand the whole mania thing yet. More people die of the regular flu in the same amount of time. Didn’t someone once say panic kills?

  8. Adriana says:

    I’m with faemom on this one. The panic has been mainly media driven and frankly it’s driving me nuts. Yes its contagious; so is the regular flu. Same symptoms; same medicine (Tamiflu); same precautions – wash your hands, don’t cough or sneeze without covering up.

    Relax people. If you feel sick, go to the doctor and get it checked out. Otherwise, keep enjoying life…it’s way too short!

  9. Court says:

    Oh yeah we are thirty minutes from a bunch of confirmed cases and the entire city is WIGGING OUT. I admit, it is a little scary, just b/c I’m pregnant, I now have bronchitis that is hopefully not turning into pneumonia, and I have a two year old who gets any sickness w/in a five mile radius. But now that it seems like it’s just a flu I guess it will be ok.

  10. tlc says:

    ” In the end it rests not on my shoulders, but on His. And there’s something wholly, completely, and eternally grounding in that.”

    Amen.

  11. Gibby says:

    Well, you know how I feel about the swine flu!
    The other day (actually, the day you posted that awesome music video) I turned the news off. I just can’t take it anymore. Bad, bad, bad, everything they report is bad news. I’m done with the news.

    OK, not really, because one needs to stay educated on current affairs, but you know what I mean.

Leave a Reply

