Your Friday Existential Statement

This is for all you Emmas out there….

According to the Social Security Administration, Americans are less creative than ever before, as the top 10 names for children haven’t changed: Emma/Emily for girls, and Jacob for boys (for the 10th year), which amazes me. I expected quite a few Baracks joining the ranks. Maybe in a few years (shudder).

I love this quote, though:

“There’s something about naming a child that’s a very existential statement,” said Social Security Commissioner Michael Astrue. “As you read through this you see the influence of recent immigration, religion, popular culture. Sometimes, it’s just people who are admired.”

Funny, cause he says two conflicting things simultaneously (must be an Obama apointee). First, naming a kid is an existential statement, which to me would suggest a choice made with thoughtfulness and logic. Then, however, he says it’s just a matter of admiration- which explains the presence of “Beckham” (mee-yow).

I notice that the shameful practice of teacher torture is continuing, giving us names like Aaden (Aiden) and Chace (Chase), as well as the hair-tearing-worthy Gennyphar and the horrendous Nevaeh (just who was popping the shrooms that night, huh?). As I blogged before (back when we were choosing names), do people not THINK about these things?

At least we’re making progress. Most popular girls names in 1908 included Ethel and Gertrude, and I’m sure quite a few Berthas got weak in the knees over Elmer and Herbert.

Maybe Nylah and Kymani aren’t so bad, after all.

This entry was posted in children, family, immigration, intercultural, language, motherhood, politics and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Your Friday Existential Statement

  1. insider53 says:

    Your so funny. My favorite story as a child was about Mayor Hogg, who named his daughters Ima and Ura. True story.

  2. ck says:

    I was really hoping the made-up spelling would go out with the 90’s.

    Alas…

  3. antropologa says:

    I just don’t get why people want their kids to have the same names as everybody else, or stupid spellings, or other weird and irritating things that mark kids’ parents, and by extension the kids, as dumbasses.

  4. Court says:

    I thought we were being original naming our daughter Kaiya and then I keep running into them everywhere and I’m like NOOOO but I’m just glad it sound right and means something cool. (Japanese for forgiveness)

  5. KathyB! says:

    I had names picked out (Rachel, Hannah, Abby – not Abigail, Emily, Kate Allison, Elizabeth and Claire) from when I was a little girl. I now wish I would have put more thought into it. I hate that my daughters go to school with so many duplicate-named children. On the flip side, we have inventive nicknames… I typed them in here and then paused and noticed how ridiculous it sounded so I deleted. Maybe someday…!

    I don’t know that I would’ve gone for a Khaeydelynne (or however you spelled that, Evenshine! I am not going back for a copy/paste!!).

  6. I actually know someone that wanted to name their son Kyle but decided to spell it with a “C” because both of their names started with “C”. I wonder how many poor teachers start out calling him “Sile” and have to explain to the class that in the English language a c before a y sounds like “s”–unless someone decides to spell their kids name some weird way.

  7. incognitomom says:

    Ah, Evenshine, first off I see that like me you also know just when the SSA posts “the list”. This tells me you must also be a name fanatic. It’s funny how many of us there are out there. It’s also funny how we all seem to be annoyed by the same things.

  8. Ink says:

    Happy Mother’s Day, Evenshine. 🙂

    I kind of like “Ethel” and “Gertrude” and older names. But not when people name their kids something having to do with the last name, like Crystal Cave or Daisy Fields.

  9. Gibby says:

    This reminds me of that cartoon which says, “Hi, I’m Cyndi, with one eye.” And the pic is of a lady with one eye. Somebody at work gave it to me years ago, it must have been a really slow day because I laughed for hours.

  10. faemom says:

    I pay close attention to those lists. I always found it funny all the misspellings. I remember thinking didn’t these parents by a naming book to see how things are spelled. I wanted unique names that wouldn’t get my kids’ butts kicked. Of course, my husband is pushing for Sophia as a girl’s name because it was his grandma’s middle name, but it’s WAY too popular.

  11. Pingback: Step away from the baby « Evenshine’s Weblog

  12. Pingback: Siete « Evenshine’s Weblog

  13. I’m with you on this one…if you want unusual, can’t it be a name that people have heard before and will respect; not something to make your kid a laughingstock. And if you want a boring name, be boring and don’t spell Ann Ayn. Be different or embrace boring. But don’t misspell.

Leave a Reply

