Is there an echo in here?

(Scene: interior of home, kitchen. CHILD, 13 months, and MOM, engaged in “conversation”).

CHILD: Duh!

MOM: Yes, love? You want a grape?

CHILD: Duh! (Pointing).

MOM: (Looking where indicated, somewhere slightly above the exhaust fan on stove). Um, a banana?

CHILD: Duh!

MOM: How about some goldfish?

CHILD: Duh! (Pointing now somewhere near the trash can).

MOM: Uh…no goldfish? Some apple sauce?

CHILD: DUH! (Adamant).

MOM: Oh, sweet pea- I don’t know what it is you want!

CHILD: BA!

MOM: Ohhhh….

CHILD: BA! ! (Signs: “more”, “please”, “milk”).

MOM: Ok, love. I’ll get your bottle.

CHILD: Duh!

MOM: Yeah, duh is right.

This entry was posted in children, family, language, motherhood and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Is there an echo in here?

  1. faemom says:

    HA! I know how you feel. It’s what I live through every day.

  2. insider53 says:

    Well Duh! Mom. Watch out because she will be saying that right back at you in no time at all. Then you will miss the Ba! lmao

  3. KathyB! says:

    My husband and I occasionally go in spurts where our conversations sound something like this 🙂 You know when you are both making the same point and you are so excited/passionate that you end up debating someone who is trying to make the same point and talking in circles? I imagine we sound just like your sweet conversation above…

    And the signing! I did that with all four of mine, and it’s just the best thing ever. My twins will still occasionally pat their chest when they say please (I modified the signs ALOT), and don’t even realize they’re doing it. It’s adorable.

  4. Gibby says:

    I feel like my kids are still saying Duh to me, only they keep it inside their heads. Well, sometimes they actually say it. And actually mean it.

  5. Ink says:

    Oh, man, I remember those conversations! Too funny! Kind of miss them now…

Leave a Reply

