Something I’ve been thinking about…

Seriously. R and I are talking pretty seriously about the A word, possibly from Ethiopia or Colombia. We have so very much. Thinking.

This entry was posted in children, christianity, family, immigration, intercultural, mission, motherhood and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Something I’ve been thinking about…

  1. erin says:

    but, if the a-word is the one i’m thinking you’re thinking, how will it = social change? what are they suggesting here? not that i’m against the a-word. i am very much for it. (btw, miss you all. llamame!)

  2. insider53 says:

    I’m confused, I thought the a word meant adoption which I think is great. The video suggest buying a cow or something to create social change. Maybe its because I’m sick and my brain is fuzzy but I am not connecting the two.

  3. Evenshine says:

    Sorry all- it was late when I wrote this. I meant to say
    1. Yay social change- we need to support the developing world and
    2. We’re thinking about radically supporting via adoption.

    Better?

    🙂

  4. KathyB! says:

    I think adoption is a wonderful thing, and you’d be richer for it. I’m not sure that adopting will help much in and of itself. The problem is too big. I think adoption + involving yourself in some sort of ongoing program that benefits the areas you specified would be a better fit. I’m sure, knowing you, that you’ve already been down that road and have a plan. I don’t know how you could adopt a child from a struggling area and not feel a powerful connection to it and a drive to help make it better.

    Let us know what you decide so we can cheer you on…

  5. We hope to adopt one day. It sort of goes with the program of an American living in China. Look forward to hearing your thoughts as you process.

  6. faemom says:

    So that’s why you brought it up on my blog. Sort of like something bouncing in your head and hey here’s a fit. Not that I mind, because we’ve talked a lot about it too. Like a girl from South America and a friend even mentioned Eastern Europe since, well, I’m white as the background of your blog.

    If you’re doing it, you have my full support. Not that it’s worth much. Is that my foot in my mouth. I’ll just go be quiet now.
    (psst. did that at least make you smile?)

  7. ck says:

    That’s wonderful, Evenshine. Good for you guys. My husband and I talk about that sometimes. We don’t want to have more children (physically), but think about going that route should our hearts change about adding to our family.

  8. antropologa says:

    That’s an adventure! Right now I’m still reeling from a bunch of articles I read about how most children available for adoption to Americans are more trafficked than abandoned and needing homes.

  9. Gibby says:

    I think adoption is a sort of social change, if for just a few people. But that is how things start…small. And if you change one person’s life, and they change a few more people’s life, and on, and on, well, then, how could you say no to that?

  10. Ink says:

    How exciting! That is wonderful, Evenshine. I hope that the process goes smoothly for you! Wishing you the best.

  11. Adriana says:

    We’ve thought about adoption too, even if we are able to have our own children. And when we think about it, we’ve always thought about adopting someone who really needs it.

  12. Outstanding….I think more about the impact that you would have on that one child instead of social change. The problem is too big…but like that Starfish story….I helped this one…

    It’s a truly wonderful, selfless act and one that I’ve always wished I could do. I’ll keep reading to see how it turns out…

  13. incognitomom says:

    Wow, adoption. Good for you. Hope it all goes smoothly if you do decide to adopt.

Leave a Reply

