Longing

I am longing.

The life of a human at times seems like one vast ocean of longing. We need, we desire, we want. Longing saturates our day and makes us wonder what we’re missing.

We try and fill the ocean with tiny pebbles. Like my kids on the beach, watching the waves advance and recede, hearing the screaming birds overhead, we shout our longing into the wind.

We ink it on our skin. We bathe in it and massage it deep into our muscles. We try and suck it in when people are watching, making jokes about it over coffee or margaritas.

Identifying this longing and the satiation thereof is one of our missions as humans. We think we’ve found it in a new obsession: an object to be cared for, a new baby, an attractive political platform.

And the silence of the frozen ocean deafens us in its stillness.

What are you longing for?

This entry was posted in children, faith, mission and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Longing

  1. amy2boys says:

    Best. Opening. Sentence. Ever.

    Love this. And thanks for your sweet comment on my post today.

  2. amy2boys says:

    Oh no! My comment was supposed to go with the 5 year old post – sleeps like a stork. Not that this sentence isn’t good too, but I really like that stork one.

    Wow. I’ve not even the first clue how this happened, but my sentiment remains true, so I guess we’re good.

  3. Eva says:

    I’d like somebody to buy my house!

  4. faemom says:

    That was even more beautiful. Just amazing. I’m longing for another baby.

  5. Adriana says:

    I know it sounds really trivial but I’m longing for my PhD to be FINALLY over.

  6. incognitomom says:

    I’m longing for more patience to deal with life and more time to do my blog the way I really want to do it and not the half baked way I’ve been doing it.

  7. I love this post Evenshine…
    I am longing for joy…..

Leave a Reply

