Lost in thought…perhaps across the Atlantic

???

I wait for the holiday crowd to clear the beach
before stepping onto the first wave.

Soon I am walking across the Atlantic
thinking about Spain,
checking for whales, waterspouts.
I feel the water holding up my shifting weight.
Tonight I will sleep on its rocking surface.

But for now I try to imagine what
this must look like to the fish below,
the bottoms of my feet appearing, disappearing.

-Billy Collins
This entry was posted in children, family, motherhood and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Lost in thought…perhaps across the Atlantic

  1. Ink says:

    Lovely picture! And great Collins quote.

  2. insider53 says:

    I love the curls, so cute.

  3. Gibby says:

    OMG, those cheeks! Precious…

  4. KathyB! says:

    That’s one cute kidd-o!

    As for the Billy Collins… imagine what the poor fish would’ve thought had they seen me at the beach the other day when I lost my bathing suit. Poor fishies!!

Leave a Reply

