Storytelling

Ok, some explanation about recent events.

Remember the dilemma? Please to review. I’ll wait.

Up to speed? OK. So Big State University is low on enrollment, and since I gave up the temporary, full-time offer they…um, offered, hoping for a permanent, full-time offer at Smaller Private University, they are less than happy with my begging for a few classes. They’ve honored me with one, but mine will be the first to be cut should the student numbers not be there.

SPU, meanwhile, had approved two full-time, long-term positions, which I was hoping for. I mean, only one of them. I wasn’t hoping for both. Jeez. A coworker (and, I believed, friend) who had been at SPU in a full-time, short-term position there said she wasn’t in the running, that her position was still good.

And she lied. To my face, nonetheless. Harumph.

So they gave her one of the full-time, long-term positions, and she knew this, and she kept chatting with me like she was on my side.

But I’m not angry. NO sirree. At least not until this point in the drama…

My boss at SPU calls me into his office. Great candidate, blah blah blah, but the long and the short of it is that they don’t have the numbers to justify a second long-term, full-time position. We can offer you two classes (a quarter of what I had last semester). Have a great break.

Nice, huh?

But wait! A ray of light shone forth. A university to which I had applied several months ago and interviewed with by phone unexpectedly calls the day after all the SPU unhappiness. They want to offer me a job, they say. Benefits! Tuition remission for a doctorate! Your hubby can study for free! We’ll help you move! Can you come and work with us??

…in OHIO?

And this is what I imagine that Ohio looks like:

farm

(You can’t see it, but off to the right there’s a buckeye axe murderer waiting to pounce)…

So to undo any strange misconceptions about the state, R and I flew up on Monday. And back down on Monday night. I know, we are such jet-setters. And the people were great, the place was beautiful, the offer is kind.

But it’s freakin’ OHIO.

Granted, it currently looks more like this:

farm2

…but come October, see above. And worse.

Not that I don’t like snow. I love it- I’m originally from New York. The kids would love it. They have seasons in Ohio, something we don’t get down south.

So you see my new dilemma.

Thoughts? Has anyone made significant moves like this, without a family/friend base to lean upon? What were some of the benefits? The challenges? Do dish.

And send nice thoughts/prayers our way. Down south.

For now.

This entry was posted in academia, children, family, motherhood and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Storytelling

  1. antropologa says:

    Ugh. Moving is hard. But doable. And I know you have family down south. That’s a big factor. The career and education stuff and all that really sounds perfect for you, honestly, I have to say, though. But family is so important.

  2. myra36 says:

    Wow! I’m sorry to say that I have no advice to give as I’ve never been in that position. But, I know that you will do what’s best for you and your family.

    Best of luck!

  3. amy2boys says:

    It sounds like a great opportunity, especially given the craptastic economy and the effect that’s having on universities.

    I grew up in Ohio. It’s not so bad.

    I will send prayer – southward for now – and congrats on the offer!

  4. insider53 says:

    Seems like a good place to raise kids. My mom uprooted us from Texas and moved to Calif. I felt like we had moved to the moon and I was an alien. It was a hard adjustment for me. Remember you guys have each other so you won’t be alone.

  5. Evenshine…

    When I moved to the US, I moved to Ohio… from a caribbean island to Ohio. Really, it’s OK for the three months out of the year where the sky isn’t gray and it’s not cold. I have lived in South Florida and now Georgia.

    I love Georgia, we have seasons but not dramatic changes in seasons like what you will experience in Ohio…I think that they have two…Gray and Summer.

    If you have family here…stay…jobs come and go…no reason to uproot your life..plus the one thing I was always grateful for was that I did not have to bundle up a newborn or young child in the cold winter months…they would have missed the bus to school every time. The whole ordeal of putting a coat on a baby and strapping them in and taking it off and gloves and scarves and boot… jeez…I’m depressed already…

  6. faemom says:

    First off, I wish you luck. That totally sucks about your friend. And your state school because that just sucks.

    I moved several months ago back to home because I missed my family. With little ones, it’s hard to find help and our closes friends were at least a half hour away. It was hard not having a support group.

    With that said, I know military families do it. I know many people have had to relocate for jobs. So it can be done. Again. I wish you all the luck and prayers I can send your way.

  7. erin says:

    wow, b. i don’t envy your decision. i am obviously biased, so i’ll just pray for courage. you’ll need it either way.

  8. well, you’ll be right next to Pennsylvania–where I am. Oops, didn’t mean to scare you away. Very tough decision. Gotta weigh a lot of things–job security, financial considerations, how hubby feels about moving, good environment for the kiddos etc. I’m not very adventurous and I like having family around, but you have to do what works best for you. Good luck and keep us informed!

  9. Gibby says:

    Wait. A. Minute!
    Although I don’t live there now, I’m originally from Ohio, Cleveland to be exact (well a suburb of, to be really exact), and I went to school in Athens, and I lived in Columbus for two years. I love Ohio. Trust me, it gets a bad rap for no reason. There are four seasons, not just two, and there are big cities and rural areas. There’s a little of everything. Maybe not an ocean, but a lake that has beautiful views. Good luck with your decision!

  10. insider53 says:

    Hope you come back from Ohio soon. Miss you.

  11. Pingback: A Soup of Sorts « Evenshine

Leave a Reply

