Conscientious objector

So you knew I had to post something about the brouhaha with Obama’s speech and the health care debate, right?

Well, HA. I’m not.

I’ve seen quite a few nice posts about it, though,  many of which reflect both  a growing discontent with the options and lack of concrete information. Which, of course, is a recipe for mob mentality, strenuously to be avoided. People who know what they’re objecting to, and do it badly, are just as clueless as the person who doesn’t know what they’re objecting to, but does anyway.

Look, I know I’ve said this before, but it seems to have become the paean that I keen more and more every day.

Just because I don’t agree with you, it doesn’t mean that I hate you.

I don’t even dislike y0u.

No, really. I know it’s hard to believe, but it’s entirely and realistically possible to object to someone’s point of view, but still have nothing but warm fuzzies toward them personally. The uncoordinated leap into “you’re just a hater” is easier, sure, but quite frequently wrong, intolerant, and…dumb.

So look. I may be the mom who wanted her child home for Obama’s speech. I might be the woman who, with every fiber of her being, believes that a woman’s “right to choose” is a soft metaphor for systematized infanticide, and doesn’t want Obama to facilitate more. I might even be that crazy Christian who believes that an “open mind” is code for someone who can’t think logically through their platitudes.

But it’s very, very far from hurling stones, shouting epithets in the House, and screaming in people’s faces.

Call me a conscientious objector. It’s lightyears from being a hater.

This entry was posted in language, motherhood, politics and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Conscientious objector

  1. acs278 says:

    What a great post. I too have people I read consistently that I don’t agree with on almost anything! But I sure do like them and think they are thoughtful and amazing people.

    This comment might be more impactful if I disagreed with you about “stuff,” but alas, we are more often of the same mind.

  2. KathyB! says:

    I love this post, and I love you, too. It makes me to happy to read your opinions because they are so thoughtfully and eloquently stated. We may not be on the same page all the time, but it’s impossible not to respect you.

    And I think you are open-minded so don’t always consider that to be an insult. You may not change your mind, but you are certainly opne enough to thoughtfully consider the points that others put forth…

  3. faemom says:

    So I’m curious because I want to know your concerns on health care. Because it would be really nice to hear some REAL objections and concerns. Because that’s what democracy is all about, battling it out to a compromise. Because as usual, I think you and I will after respectfully disagree with each other 😉

  4. evenshine says:

    Thanks, Amy! And yes, I think generally we see eye to eye on things.

  5. evenshine says:

    KB! Aww…you’re a sweetie. Thanks for the encouragement!

  6. evenshine says:

    Fae- soon! I promise!

  7. insider53 says:

    Not ashamed to say it. I. missed. the. speech. Can’t have an opinion about what I didn’t see. I’m with KathyB. Express yourself, share your opinions, it’s your blog and that’s what blogging is. We don’t agree on many things but I still respect your opinion and appreciate hearing it.

Leave a Reply

