Caster Semenya

Discuss.

Not sure where I am on this one. Do birth defects disqualify one from competition? Not at all. How about a “defect” that gives you the strength of a man in the body of a “woman”? Might the future of the Olympics be genderless? 

Things that make you go hmmmmm…..

(Not even sure what category to put this in…children? Politics? Intercultural??!!)

This entry was posted in 1 and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Caster Semenya

  1. KathyB! says:

    I know. I have no idea what to do with this one. I feel as though I have a strong internal sense of right and wrong, but this one is just grey. I’m curious to see what your other commenters come up with since mine is such a fail.

  2. insider53 says:

    I don’t know either. I do know it is a terrible way for her to find out that she is a hermaphrodite. That would be hard enough in private, which is how it should have been handled, unlike the public firestorm that is happening now.

  3. evenshine says:

    I wonder how much she did know? How does one NOT know? I guess it’s possible…

  4. faemom says:

    Her family had some sort of an idea because they teased her about it. I guess if it’s a defect, does that mean she can qualify for The Special Olympics? What? Too soon? Ok, I think it’s heart breaking because they can’t let her compete with women because she has an unfair advantage but can’t qualify for racing against men. Obviously this is her dream and her love, and they are taking it away.

  5. ultraguy says:

    They’ve had gender tests in the Olympics for a long time, believe it or not, and hermaphrodites are more common than some think (e.g., Jamie Lee Curtis was born that way). It’s a terrible burden that’s hard to even imagine, much less understand why God would allow it. But he’s God and we’re not.

Leave a Reply

