The season of the pumpkin

A college boyfriend (who shall forever remain nameless) had a band for a while and celebrated in due course the greatness that is October. Songs were written, ballads performed, festive gatherings held- all in celebration of the ubiquitous fabulousness of fall. I seem to remember very bad pumpkin-related brews and lots of Birkenstocks.

It worketh upon me strangely, this Fall air, these scuttling clouds, the whirl of leaves.

As we settle in to an old, creaky house, replete with noisy wood floors and dark corners, I think we have the perfect setting for a magical season. Last weekend we spent Saturday in autumnal preparations, like mulching and battening and laying-by of stores. I’ve never felt so rodential.  

Still on our (long and exhausting exhaustive) list of things to do are tasks such as buying room-size rugs (Allo, Ikea?) and weatherproofing the windows. Not sure how you weatherproof the windows, but the drafts wafting through the house are witness to the potential carnage of winter in an old house.

The handyman has been busy, mostly with cosmetic details like a couple of new handrails and painting the back porch (a rich autumnal chocolate-brown). Since we have a new furnace, I think he possibly believes we’ve done everything possible to conserve heat and energy. I’m looking into those energy-saving curtains, and considering space-heaters.

No, I’m not nesting, but the birds in their long Vs and the crispness of the air make me want to sing Verdi and twirl on the green outside my office. The urge to bake things with cinnamon, gooey things that need to be washed down with apple products, overtakes me regularly. I frequently spend minutes just breathing.

And don’t get me started on the mum displays at Home Depot.

So spill…are you as intoxicated with fall as I am? What are your preparations? Nesting much?

This entry was posted in family, motherhood and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to The season of the pumpkin

  1. insider53 says:

    I love Fall. I love wearing sweaters instead of just sweat. Pumpkins are everywhere and I love the taste of pumpkin bread. Yes I bake too. We don’t get much in the way of color changes here in the high desert but it still has beauty of it’s own.

  2. Gibby says:

    This post is so cozy. I love fall. I love the colors, the smells, the noises, the festivals, the pumpkins, even the ugly gourds. I love wearing sweaters and although I do miss flip flops, I love hearing the leaves crunch under my feet.

    Another thing I love? The word rodential. Nice.

  3. I too came to compliment you on your use of the word “rodential”. That’s new to me, and I like it.

    For our old house with old uninsulated windows (that need to be re-puttied) I bought the triple layer curtains from Walmart. They are interlined, faux silk. I like the way they look (although I should iron them and have not done that yet) and you can really feel the difference when you draw back the curtains in the morning and all that cold air from the window assaults your senses.

    I’m sorry about the crazy that you’ve encountered at work, but at least things are nice at home. Fall nesting is lovely.

  4. antropologa says:

    Actually, if I weren’t still sick, we’d be still having beach days. I did do a bunch of yardwork yesterday as the weather was gorgeous. But not fall-gorgeous.

  5. erin says:

    a third on “rodential”

    also, one thing i do know that easy to do is caulk on the windows. you’ll need to buy or borrow (or beg or steal) a caulk gun. and some all purpose caulk, por su puesto. cut a small, angled hole in the caulk, once you’ve loaded it in the gun. and bring a damp rag for cleanup. squirt away at the seams between window and wall and window frame and window (not on the parts that need to be opened at some point!) smooth with finger and use rag to clean finger and/or edges.

    hope that helps!

  6. evenshine says:

    Thanks, Erin! Good suggestions…

Leave a Reply

