Silence

My new teaching assignment (the one that had me move to the frozen north known as OHIO) has its ups and downs, but one of the definite ups for me has been the religious affiliation of the university where I teach. There’s a small, quiet chapel at the bottom of my building. I am there several times a day.

I’m not a fanatic, not a fundamentalist whacko that spouts rhetoric and plans for world domination (at least most of the time). But having a place so conducive to contemplation and silence is a gift, so, like the good person that I’m not, at random moments in the day you can find me hangin’ with the Mother of Good Counsel.

It’s down a dark-panelled hallway that smells like a candle recently blown out. As my office building is also home to some retired religious, it also has that odor specific to old men- somewhere between cooled tobacco, faded aftershave and wet wool. Mix it in with the dried flowers left at Mary’s statue and the ancient odor of people’s tears, sweat, and prayers, and you have it.

It’s like my morning java- I go first thing when I arrive, harried from the dressing-lunchmaking-rushing-out-the-door that is my morning, and leave my things just outside the chapel. I smooth my hair, leave my coffee, and walk through the stained glass doors.

There’s usually no one there. I cross to the nearest prayer bench and kneel.

And then there it is. I am alone- something I’m not, most of the time. I am silent- something I’m definitely not most of the time. I can hear my own breathing. I focus. I calm. I breathe a prayer into the dim light.

It’s a precious gift, this time, and I am thankful for it. I feel like I’ve discovered a place out of time and space where I could get lost and never be heard from again. I’d fall into the soft upholstery, and years later they’d find my image burned into the pew like the Shroud of Turin.

Whispering in the darkness, talking to God, listening in the silence.

EKX60CA3SZGOTCAZWK2KDCAW8TMEICA5237SCCAHLWD3NCAA7Q6F1CALA21KOCA2Q63BWCAR7WZU4CAMXQU73CAYNCPH6CA1ULWCICAIM18ZGCAN7VVZUCA2T6XAFCAPWO19ACAGST3SBCARGFEF2CAOMBSEM

This entry was posted in academia, Catholic, christianity, faith, mission and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Silence

  1. That sounds lovely.

  2. There’s a beautiful, awe-inspiring chapel on my new campus, too. Maybe I’ll steal this idea from you and spend a few rare moments alone (with God), too.

    Thanks for the post.

  3. insider53 says:

    Wonderful, silence and contemplation.

  4. erin says:

    yes, i agree. lovely, wonderful, inspiring.
    glad you have been blessed with this opportunity and that you are taking advantage of it.

  5. ck says:

    What a beautiful post. And what a perfect way to start a morning.

    (I grew up in the Catholic church and the smell of recently blown out candles always takes me back.)

  6. amy2boys says:

    Wonderful! I’m jealous. Though I am lucky to work very close to my own Cathedral and get there for noon Mass a few times each week.

  7. Darlene says:

    There is nothing like quiet contemplation. I have discovered this in a most profound way as a Catechumen in the Orthodox Church. There, in times of meditation and prayer, alone with God we encounter Him away from the noise and busyness of this life.

  8. evenshine says:

    Darlene, thanks for commenting! I think you’re right…silence does something to focus us, make us listen. Places like this are crucial to find.

Leave a Reply

