Search terms

Things have been quiet (at least since last week) around the blog for a while, and so Evenshine wanders into the always-humbling exercise of Checking The Blog Stats.

I learned early on in this blogging thing that I could either pay assiduous attention to the Numbers, and agonize over my relative insignificance in the world, wondering about the many visitors (or lack thereof) and the reasons they arrived, or…not.

I chose the latter.

Every now and then, however, I have to wonder what people are looking for when they find me. You know you’ve done it. It sheds surprisingly little light into either your writing ability or your attractiveness as a person/blog. But, like waxing and rubbernecking, we do it anyway.

So, then: the latest  installment of What The Huh Were You Searching For, That You Arrived Here, in order of popularity:

1. Victoria Beckham hair short/ Kate Walsh hair: Both of these are near the top in % of searchers. Probably due to this post, where I was in desperate need of a haircut. I can guarantee, however, that you did NOT find what you were looking for. And no, that’s not me in the picture.

2. shamrock/ shamrock pics/ sham ROCK: amazing that such a tiny plantlike thingie could create so much traffic. And what is that last term? Are they looking for a fake rock and roll act, a la Spinal Tap, or a stone that looks real but is not, or is this the title for the new Fraggles’ movie?

3. is it normal to have two periods/ low sex drive/ short periods with Paragard/ Paragard pain/ pregnancy Paragard etc.: Look. I’m not your OB/Gyn. Make an appointment and discuss these things with her/him. I have no idea why you can feel the strings, nor can I shed any light on why Paragard is lowering your sex drive. Really. Stop asking.

4. Latino baby/cute baby pics/ ColombianEcuadorianMexicanPanamanian baby/ mixed baby pics etc. Yes, I’ll own it, shamelessly. I’ve got some cute kids. But seriously: is there some discernable difference in cuteness between a Colombian baby and a Mexican one? Were we shopping??? Add to basket…

5. chicken dough depardieu receipt: I am speechless. I sincerely hope you find whatever it was you were looking for, and that it is in no way related to me or my blog. And I only ate the chicken dough that one time.

This entry was posted in language and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Search terms

  1. faemom says:

    LOL
    Of course, I still don’t know what saints your children were for All Saints’ Day.

  2. insider53 says:

    Chicken dough……is that made by Pillsbury? Ha Ha!

  3. Carrie_in_TN says:

    Your search terms are stranger than mine and I tend to get a bunch of searches for big, cuban butts. I rarely look at my stats anymore because, well, the numbers won’t change how I do what I do.

    But, last week I was in there and saw that someone had been searching for naked pictures of me. I nearly spit out my coffee. And when I stopped laughing over what a futile exercise that was for someone, it freaked me out.
    I’m staying away from the stats…

    And, why would anyone want Victoria Beckham’s haircut?

  4. evenshine says:

    Carrie- huhhh??? YIKES. That would totally wierd me out…one of the best things about being anon!

  5. Adriana says:

    You guys had more exciting stuff (and weird Carrie) than mine. I’m all about food. These are my top today:
    vaca frita de pollo recipe
    frijoles colorados
    cuban appetizer
    pollo tropical black beans recipe
    arroz congris oven
    arroz congri recipe
    churrera
    arroz con moros recipe
    arroz moro con
    cubanrican

Leave a Reply

