More

If you have a few minutes, please peruse Katie’s blog over at The Journey. She’s just your average 20-year-old who moves to Africa and adopts 14 children. On her own.

I read things like this and I wonder how much more I could do, how much more we are all capable of. As R and I wade through adoption and foster care information, I think of Katie, mother to fourteen, and I wonder how much more we can do as partners. Frequently we see families with many kids, or with special needs, or with extraordinary circumstances, and our first thought is always: “How do they do it?” Sometimes, my teaching, my two kids, and a husband who’d lose his head if it weren’t attached are all I can handle. I remember when I was sick sick sick with my second child, face to the ground, unable to stay on my feet, gasping into the dirt: “No more. I can’t do this any more.”

And yet somehow, something intensely human inside of us moves aside when faced with extraordinary circumstances. We do what is in front of us. We do what must be done and we, and those around us, are a little bit better.

A tiny bit.

More.

This entry was posted in children, faith, family, mission, motherhood and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to More

  1. KathyB! says:

    I often wonder the same thing. How much more could I give? I think quite a bit…

  2. Gibby says:

    I just read Katie’s latest post and wow.
    Just…
    Wow.

    Thank you for posting this.

  3. insider53 says:

    Going to read her post now but I am already impressed with her just by what you said.

  4. ah, ok. I knew you were looking to adopt–but last post I thought you were actually thinking about getting preggers again. I never thought i could love another child as much as my first–until I had my next two. Once that child becomes part of your family, you’ll rise to the challenge–like every good mom.

  5. Evenshine says:

    Les- I’m thinking about both, and both have their challenges. Thanks for the encouraging words!

  6. faemom says:

    I’m always impressed with people that are handling more difficult circumstances than I. I too wonder how they do it. I wonder if I could do it too. Sometimes I don’t think I could.

Leave a Reply

