Taste Preferences

Netflix, I big-red-puffy-Bedazzled-heart you. You have made the Nighttime-OutOfIt-Mommy-Movie-Catchup so much less of a headache. Thanks to you, I no longer feel like I’ve been off the grid for so long (i.e.- since I had children). I can now speak of the Third Season of Lost with aplomb, if not clarity (’cause, it’s- uh- not).

I love how you think of me and my interests, in a way that’s disturbingly accurate, and kinda makes me blush. Why yes, I would love to see almost anything in your Movies Based on Classical Literature category. And indeed, my little heart is set aflutter when you nudge-nudge, wink-wink me towards Cerebral Movies With a Strong Female Lead.

But I begin to wonder, honestly, when you suggest Mexican Documentaries. And no, I didn’t know they even existed. Not that I don’t like Mexicans- but I think perhaps my language preferences might have blinded you into believing I had a penetrating need to learn of Cesar Chavez and Zorro. Um, I don’t. But thanks.

And we won’t even discuss Lesbian Comedies in Arabic.

Still, I am grateful. You’ve done wonders, cementing my dislike of Nicolas Cage, illuminating my almost-unconscious interest in Tibetan Buddhism, and affirming my intellectuality by showing me local favorites- none of which I’d touch with a 10-foot pole. I can wait on the movies that come to me from my queue, or I can be impatient and spontaneous and watch streaming movies on my computer. Huddled with my green tea and McVities digestives, I find escape, peace, and blog fodder.

Now show me a few Critically-Acclaimed Foreign Dramas. And stay away from those Feel-Good Talking-Animal Children & Family movies.

This entry was posted in motherhood and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Taste Preferences

  1. amy2boys says:

    Netflix is awesome, no? Nick Cage – I only really like Raising Arizona, which I think is hilarious.

    And the suggestions are creepy and amazing aren’t they? Like with Amazon – it’s either bang on or you’re like “wha??”

  2. antropologa says:

    Netflix for a while had me on a Mysterious and Surly Ralph Fiennes Drama kick.

  3. Ink says:

    “I big-red-puffy-Bedazzled-heart you.” (I big puffy bedazzled heart this sentence.)

  4. faemom says:

    One day, I’m going to have to see try this “Netflix” you speak of.
    Happy movie watching!

  5. insider53 says:

    I have an odd relationship with Nick Cage. I don’t like him and I think he is one of the worst actors ever, but he keeps doing movies I want to see, what’s up with that. I actually cried when he was going to do Superman. I haven’t tried Netflix but you may have talked me into it.

  6. evenshine says:

    Fae- not to sound like an ad, but it’s remarkably convenient for the busy mom. And I think they offer a free trial, so check it out!

  7. evenshine says:

    indider- HA! Same here. I hear he has money troubles, too…

  8. Nick Cage is to acting what prune juice is to….well, juice. Okay, so I’m bad at analogies.

    I agree that Netflix and Amazon are a little freaky with their predictive powers. Although I haven’t trusted Netflix since they recommended To Wong Foo…

  9. Gibby says:

    I heart Netflix, too. Catching up on old seasons, children’s classics that I rent more for me than the kids, and Hubs LOVES streaming “free” (well, you know what I mean) movies to our TV. I ignored all the Netflix offers for years and I am kicking myself for not joining earlier!

    Except I don’t know why they created that Jennifer Aniston row for me. So we rented Marley and Me. I didn’t rent it for her! LOL!

Leave a Reply

