Siete

For the lovely Fae.

Seven things I’ve never said on my blog:

1. I am an avowed anthroponymist. You may have guessed from this post, or further back, this post. I just think the names people choose for their kids are directly indicative of their relative intelligence. Or their blood alcohol level. Either one.

2. I feel shy when commenting on people’s blogs for the first time, especially if they’re supersmart and insightful. I usually end up in a virtual pool of jelly and my own slobber as I try and craft THEBESTCOMMENTEVER, one that will not only induce the person to come visit my blog, but to add me immediately and henceforth to his/her blogroll. This has like, hardly ever? Happened. Except for YOU. Reading right now.

3. My belly button has this really nice scar on it, from where I attempted (and succeeded) to pierce myself with one of those straight pins you use for hemming clothes. With the colored ball on the end. I KNOW. And I wasn’t even drinking, just adolescent.

4. I have an unreasonable and overwhelming admiration for and attraction towards ceremony of any kind. The more elegant, the better. Tea ceremonies. Kindergarden graduations. Pomp and circumstance. The more intricate and symbolic, the happier I am. This is probably why I’m an Anglican.

5. You know that recipe for “Disappearing Oatmeal Cookies” on the back of the Quaker Quick Oats lid? I have eaten I could eat a whole batch. These cookies are what they will serve on little cloud-shaped plates in heaven.

6. The remotest place I’ve ever been is a place called Poruro, in the mountains of southern Peru. We took an airplane from Lima, then a bus, then a truck, then a motorcycle. And then walked. I remember laughing out loud at how absolutely screwed I would be if I had a heart attack at that moment. Or got kicked in the head by an alpaca.

7. I prefer silver to gold.

OK: the people I would love to hear from but may or may not participate are Antropologa, ck, The Steel Magnolia, Fighting Windmills, Amy, and Lokimomma. Feel free to totally and unapologetically blow me off, ’cause I would if you all weren’t so darn cool.

Happy Friday! Happy long weekend!!!

This entry was posted in language and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Siete

  1. faemom says:

    You often leave THEBESTCOMMENT ever on my blog, so it shouldn’t be too hard to do it over and over again. Or you can be like me and be prepared to shove your foot in your mouth. šŸ™‚

    I have a scar in my belly button too. But that’s just wear they pulled out my apendix. Not nearly as cool of a story though I was in Tijuana when I first felt the pain.

    And Poruro sounds super cook.

    And if you get ck to do this, I . . . I have no idea what’ll do other than let my jaw drop to the floor.

  2. amy2boys says:

    This is so fun! Thanks for tagging me. I haven’t done a meme in over a year.

    I love ceremony too (I’m a Papist after all).

    As far as commenting, I’m the master of the comment typo. I never see the typo until I’ve clicked submit. So everyone I comment on likely doubts my literacy.

    The new site looks awesome, btw!

  3. antropologa says:

    Wait, what are the rules? Just seven things I haven’t said before? Huh.

  4. This is why I love blogging. I was feeling so . . . heavy this week between all the Haiti coverage and the helplessness surrounding it and starting the semester and (for some weird reason) worrying about when my kids are teenagers. And that horribly sad promo for The Lovely Bones. Now you’ve gone and made me feel special and connected! Thanks evenshine!

  5. ck says:

    Here’s to hoping those cloud-shaped plates have chocolate crinkle cookies on them too!

  6. lokimomma says:

    Yes, we did many stuipid things with safety pins and sewing needles in our adolescence. At least you stopped doing stupid things, I kept going for a few years šŸ™‚

  7. Ink says:

    GREAT list. Really enjoyed reading it!

  8. Jane says:

    I like these kinds of lists. I like what they reveal about ourselves. And I love it that I found someone just like me. Your #2? TOTALLY me! Totally. But it’s not just the first comment post on someone’s blog that makes me anxious. It’s almost every comment I make. I’m always afraid I’m going to say something stupid, offensive or worse, grammatically incorrect with no way to spell/grammar check or fix it once I hit submit.

  9. Thanks for the tag! I hope you are well. These days I haven’t been participating in memes, but I’d be glad to do this one.

  10. sahm i am says:

    About #2. I haven’t updated my blogroll since … well I can’t remember. Come to think of it, I don’t remember the last time I posted either. Anyway, I just wanted to let you know that, contrary to my outdated blogroll list, I do enjoy your blog. Some entries are just simply beautiful. And, although we don’t share the same religious/political views, I appreciate your honesty and passion. Thanks for being real.

Leave a Reply

