The problem with an open mind

…is that things fall out.

Story of my life, I suppose. Though that might just be motherhood.

Here’s the thing: no one really believes that truth is relative. They may say that. They may argue you into the ground, passionately, and with great sentiment, that everyone’s got a different way of seeing things, and they are all just as true, just as right, just as valid.

“We’re all just looking for the same things”, or “there’s no ONE right way”, or “that’s just your point of view, molded by anthropological and social forces beyond your conscious control”. “That’s not how I feel” is a nice one. As if your feelings on things had any ability to determine anything other than biological necessity or social coercion.

I think we’re more comfortable with relativism, more fuzzy-wuzzy with our girlfriends. Less bumps in the road when differences (in childrearing, in faith, in ways of seeing the world, in life choices) rear their always-inconvenient heads.

But secretly, in places we don’t hardly acknowledge except under the influence of wine or concerted introspection, we don’t really believe that. We certainly don’t live like that. When someone tramples into our little truthgarden we are very affronted. How inconvenient! How insulting! How closed-minded and prudish!

Forgetting, of course, that our little truthgarden is, by our own assertion, absolutely trample-able. All things being equal.

Which they’re not.

(Inspired, in part, by this)
This entry was posted in faith, interfaith, language, motherhood, politics and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to The problem with an open mind

  1. amy2boys says:

    Ha! What prompted this, I wonder!

    Of course I agree with you because you speak the Absolute Truth, the existence of which is essential and able to be grasped by mere common sense. Which the West greatly lacks (common sense I mean). I’m reading some Chesterton right now, so you’re straight up my alley.

    I did your meme today btw and enjoyed it very much!

  2. antropologa says:

    I keep thinking of a post about this. For me it’s like this: you can do whatever you want, unless you’re my kid. Then my real values show.

  3. lokimomma says:

    Read that article last night and loved it-especially the fact that he stood up for himself (noting that he is more concerned with human suffering). Most tend to bend to the pressure of the animal-crazies and aplologize. Love me some Johnny Weir.

  4. evenshine says:

    Amy- love Chesterton. One of my faves. Can’t wait to read your meme!

    Antro- REALLY looking forward to that!

    Lokimomma- I loved it, too, that someone would use LOGIC to defend his position, and refuse to bow to the critics. Otherwise, he’s kinda kooky, though.

  5. faemom says:

    I definantly think that we hold certain truths as Truth in our minds. People are ready to defend themselves over the dumbest things, like what TV shows their kids watch.

    As for the article, it put him in a better light than the original AP article when the controversy first aired. His interview with the AP over the fur made him look like a spoiled teenager, saying he thought more people should worry about the suffering of others, not necessarily that he worried about it. Then he called his designer his “peep,” and I laughed for five minutes over a 25 year old white male figure skater actually using the term “peep” in an interview.

    Am I wordy or what, today?

  6. Dang. So observant that we pretend truth is relative until it parents right next to us.
    Your opening line made me laugh…I always teach critical thinking as a chance to open your mind and not worry that things will fall out. You’d be a tougher nut than my students. 😉

Leave a Reply

