The part of the show where I toss my cookies

If you’ve been reading me long enough, you’ve made it through birth #2, the glory and the angst, the highs and the lows, and most definitely, the tossing of the cookies.

My genetic forbears saw fit to gift me with the amazing and not-very-enviable talent to keep absolutely nothing down from weeks 5-20 of a pregnancy. No really. Nothing.

Last time, they had me on cancer-survivor pills to keep me mobile and erect. Otherwise, I’d be gracefully draped over my bathroom floor, wondering when someone (anyone!) would put me out of my misery. There’s a scientific term for it: hyperemesis gravidarium, which only slightly doesn’t sound like a wand-waving catchphrase from Harry Potter.

NOT THIS TIME. (I say in a shaky, beleaguered voice).

Yea, though I spent all weekend hurling my poor stomach into the depths of misery, I will not go quiet into that vomitous night. I am convinced, altogether baselessly and quite emphatically, that this nausea will not get me down. On the contrary. This time I take it as a personal challenge to make it out of bed, into the shower, more or less dressed, and TO WORK each day. I’m also hoping to avoid the drugs, though I may retract that statement later.

I’m also praying. A LOT. Hoping He That Cares For The Sparrow will turn a beneficent eye to my plight and yes, in the great cosmic log-jam of oil spills and dictators and social injustice and, you know, the universe and everything…give me a leeeetle break.

Here’s hopin’. Send good vibes thisa-way.

This entry was posted in motherhood, pregnancy. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to The part of the show where I toss my cookies

  1. Congratulations! And we do have a God who cares about the little things in the midst of the big things. He’s sort of incredible like that.

  2. lamourdemere says:

    Is this pregnancy number 3? I too spent most of pregnancy 1 and 2 throwing up everything i managed to swallow (and lots i didn’t) and can’t quite believe I am willing to do it again. Maybe next time I’ll just sail through… good luck, I hope it passes quickly!

  3. Ink says:

    Congratulations!!!! Did you mention this before? I feel like I didn’t know you were pregnant.

    So: HERKIES and JOYFULNESS!

    In any case, SO much sympathy re: nausea. I had it bad, and it was freakin’ debilitating. The only thing good about it is that there WILL be an end to it. Hugs!!

  4. Antropologa says:

    Good luck with that. ๐Ÿ™‚

  5. Hugs and good gestating vibes coming your way! And blessings, too!

  6. faemom says:

    Congratulations!

    As a survivor of a third pregnancy, I’m sending you all my prayers and well wishes. As a Catholic, I’m asking Mother to interceed on your behalf, since, you know, She’s been through it. ๐Ÿ˜‰

  7. Jane says:

    Sympathy hugs and hope that you can find a good doctor of Chinese Medicine. Honestly, acupuncture and herbs helped me tremendously during my “morning sickness” (HA!) that lasted until week 30.

  8. ck says:

    Congratulations, Evenshine! I am so excited for you. And on a selfish note, I’m really looking forward to the beautiful things you’ll write when your healthy, happy #3 makes his/her entrance.

  9. WorkingMom says:

    Congrats! I am so with you – the Middle Child made me look like I was from the cast of “Wicked”… and I’m not talking Glinda either! Wintergreen Life Savers and tonic water helped. Just find what works and stick with it. And good luck with the flight! I have never flown with the three + Hubby. Two plus Hubby means I’m up all night before we fly, packing and repacking, tell the TSA agent who decides I need to be frisk that I don’t have a problem with it as long as she rubs my shoulders a little longer (and she did, God love her!). Once that door closes and we’re wheels up (and I’ve rushed through 7 or 8 Hail Marys while breaking my children’s fingers), I tell Hubby he’s on duty. And I sleep.

  10. cynthia says:

    Congratulations! That’s awesome news. Hope the nausea isn’t as bad this 3rd time around.

  11. Congratulations!
    I went the last pregnancy puking from week 4 to week 22. And there were three days, three glorious days, in which I felt great. So I figured I’d miscarried.
    Nausea is so awful. And puking at every turn is so exhausting. I have no advice for what to try, as I solicited advice from all corners and nothing worked. Any advice made me mad, in fact.
    So I’ll wish you one of those lucky nausea-ends-at-week-14 kind of pregnancies. (Um, how is 9 weeks of puking lucky? Evenshine will understand. It’s a lot luckier than 20 weeks, and a LOT luckier than 36 weeks, eh Ink?)

  12. incognitomom says:

    Congratulations! I was fortunate not to have many problems with puking during my pregnancy but my mother tells me she puked her whole entire pregnancy with me (including when she was in labor). I’m hoping this time around God is more merciful and gives you a break from all that unpleasantness.

    I can tell you for the little nausea I did have during my second trimester that Edie’s lemon flavored fruit bars helped a lot. Supposedly citris helps with nausea. Can’t hurt to try, right?

Leave a Reply

