The buck stops

Dear Administrator,

Thank you for my $465 raise. I just want you to know how head-over-heels I am about it. No really. I am turning cartwheels in my (shared) office, trying not to hit the (antiquated) computer equipment in my zeal.

Yes, I know about budget cuts. And I know- a lot of people are unemployed. Don’t get me wrong. I would much rather the $465 than a pink slip. Even though my daughter could probably make a gorgeous snowflake out of the pink slip.

I’m glad that I have, in your words, “met or exceeded expectations”. This makes me feel ever-so-validated. And you fielded the “I don’t want so much of a teaching load so I can work on that research project” statement really well- a little evasion, some non-commital promises…nicely done.

I just wanted to let you know that I will be doing exactly $465 worth of extra work this year. Which, by my count, averages out to the amount of time I come in early during one (1) calendar week.  Which, technically, I accomplished

…last August.

So thanks, Administrator.

I knew I went into academia for a reason. Must have been those $465.

This entry was posted in academia. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to The buck stops

  1. Jane says:

    So unappreciated, so under valued. Don’t bother with figuring out what that $465 averages out to over a course of a year ($1.28/day) It’s just too depressing!

  2. Ink says:

    This. Is. Awesome.

    LMAO.

  3. ck says:

    If it makes you feel any better, the place I used to work at REDUCED the salary of their employees this year…

Leave a Reply

