Twenty-seven months

You are stretching into three.

Waking at six every morning, without regard for a) time slept b) rain clouds or c) your desperately tired mommy, you break into squeals of joy at finding your sister still miraculously asleep in the bed in your room.

Life is AWESOME, you shout to the day. And- GET THIS DIAPER OFF ME!

And I, slouching into wakefulness, rubbing the sleep from my multiplying crow’s feet, shuffle to your bedside. Your arms fly into the air, your eyebrows almost disappear into your hair, and you cry, triumphantly, “MA!”.

Yes, I see you, my love, my dearest little boy. You are amazing…you are newly made…you are full of YOU and the day and the light streaming into your room.

Swinging you up into my arms again I am humbled, and soothed, and filled.

And your head is on my shoulder and your arms around my neck and we are. And I will always be-

Yours,

Ma

This entry was posted in children, family, motherhood. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Twenty-seven months

  1. amy2boys says:

    Oh he’s darling!! I loved that age with all of my kids.

  2. Fie Upon This Quiet Life says:

    AWWWW! I love his curly hair! My hubby has curly hair, but alas, both my kids got my straight as a board hair. Oh well. They have gorgeous eyes and very pinchable cheeks. 🙂 Anyway, it’s great feeling so in love with the kiddos, isn’t it??

  3. Mrs.Mayhem says:

    What a cutie pie! Love his curly hair!

  4. lokimomma says:

    I miss him….

Leave a Reply

